World Marathon Majors Series XII – Final standings

Kenya’s Eliud Kipchoge and Brigid Kosgei have crowned Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XII champions. Kipchoge won his fourth consecutive series title after winning the Berlin Marathon 2018 and London Marathon 2019.

In the Women’s Wheelchair category, Manuela Schar from Switzerland won all the races of the WMM series XII, a remarkable feat. She was recognized with a specially created gold version of the Six Star finishers medal. Never before has an athlete won every race in succession. She is an incredible marathoner.

Manuela Schar, An incredible marathoner (pic source-WorldParaAthletics

In men’s category – Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia, finished second in the series after winning New York city marthon 2018 & securing 2nd place in Bostan Marathon 2019.

In the women’s category, Ruti Aga of Ethiopia finished second in the series. She finished 2nd in Berlin Marathon 2018 and 1st in Tokyo Marathon 2019.

Final standings: Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XII

Men’s Series XII
Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya): 50 points
Lelisa Desisa ( Ethiopia): 41 points
Birhanu Legese (Japan): 32 points

Women’s Series XII
Brigid Kosgei (Kenya): 50 points
Ruti Aga (Ethiopia): 41 points
Vivian Cheruiyot (Kenya): 32 points

Men’s Wheelchair Series XII
Daniel Romanchuk (USA): 124 points
Marcel Hug (Switzerland): 98 points
Brent Lakatos (Canada): 42 points

Women’s Wheelchair Series XII
Manuela Schar (Switzerland): 124 points
Tatyana McFadden (USA): 72 points
Madison de Rozario (Australia): 51 points

Races of Series XII of the Abbott World Marathon Majors –

Berlin Marathon 2018
Chicago Marathon 2018
TCS New York City Marathon 2018
Tokyo Marathon 2019
Boston Marathon 2019
London Marathon 2019
IAAF World Championship Marathon (Women only) 2019
Berlin Marathon 2019

Also read: Ways to increase the pace while running

Leave a Reply